SOL #23: Trips to Target

IMG_3206

Back again, Target. Here to spend some more $$$ on some very unnecessary items. I walk through the entrance and grab a cart. I’m here to buy juice boxes for our book club celebration, so I actually need a cart. Bad idea…

My internal monologue as I make my way through the greatest store on Earth: 

Dollar Spot Section: Ooh! Make Your Own Scented SlimyGloop…cherry and blue raspberry scented?! Galaxy Squoosh-o Stress Balls?! I MUST have them. Perfect for my students to use as sensory toys. I’ll make them over spring break! *3 boxes in cart* Is that a tote bag for only $7?! I don’t need it, but I want it. Why is it even in this section!? Dollar Spot, $5 Spot, and now $7 Spot… *1 tote bag in cart*

Sunglasses Section: I could use some new sunglasses…Tries on 20 different pairs and none of them look good. So much for new sunglasses . *0 sunglasses in cart*

Clothing Section: Target has the cutest clothes. I really need to go shopping for some spring outfits. T-shirts and tanks on sale for $5?! I need a new black tee and a white tank. Should I get another black tank? Nah, I don’t need it. Continue to pick out more clothes, but do not have the energy to try them on. Next time.

Book Section:  Are there any books on sale?! Weaves through the book aisles to find overpriced books that are not on sale. I’ll just buy more books on Scholastic. *0 books in cart*

Food Section: 20% off candy? I heard the Starburst Minis and Beans are good. I should try them. *1 bag of candy in cart* Okay, where is the apple juice? Score! They are 2/$5. Mott’s or Juicy Juice? Apple juice, berry, or fruit punch? Mix of both? No, I will just stick to good ol’ apple juice. * 4 packages of Juicy Juice in cart* 

Okay, I’m done. It’s almost 6:30 and I need to get home.

I make my way through the rest of Target, glancing at all the other items I could buy, but I resist. To the self-checkout I go…

SlimyGloop, Squoosh-o Stress Balls, a tote bag, two $5 sale shirts, and a bag of Starburst Minis & Beans were NOT what I came to Target for. Leaving with the apple juice counts for something, right?

slice-of-life_individual

6 thoughts on “SOL #23: Trips to Target”

  1. That graphic is too funny!
    We don’t have a Target, and the nearest one is 50 miles away. Sometimes we stop, but the store is messy, which I can’t handle. Now, take me to Fred Meyer, and I’m lucky to get out w/out purchasing things I don’t need. Did you only buy apple juice? That part about not having the energy to try on clothes is exactly how I feel these days.

    Like

  2. You have described a common occurrence for so many people! The pace of your writing matches what I imagine to be the pace of your shopping. Loved reading your thoughts and justifications. Great slice!

    Like

Leave a comment