SOL #25: Mochi in My Tummy

slice-of-life_individualYet another trip to the store and another slice to reflect on…FOOD.

Today I took a trip to Whole Foods.

I very rarely make my way to Whole Foods, but I have been in search of jackfruit, which I cannot seem to find anywhere! I thought I would be in luck, since Whole Foods has all kinds of unusual healthy food items, but no such luck.

With a jackfruit defeat, I opted for their new mochi bar, which I saw advertised at the entrance…score!

I headed over to the bakery section to find the mochi bar. It is a self-serve bar, filled with a variety of mochi flavors. I decided to try 3 of the flavors, including matcha green tea, mango, and strawberry.

“What is mochi?”, you may ask.  Well, I learned today that it is a Japanese dessert made with sweet rice dough and ice cream!  Soft in texture on the outside, but ice cream on the inside-yes, ice cream! The ice cream part definitely sold me.

I first took a bite into the matcha green tea mochi. Matcha green tea is awesome.

Initial thought: The outside is super squishy and gummy, but also powdery on the outside because of the powdered sugar. Weird texture at first, but I liked it regardless.

After biting into the rice dough, there was a burst of green tea flavor! Soft, creamy ice cream in the center goes well with the rice dough. I was pleasantly surprised!

I had to try another. Mango was even better than the green tea mochi, honestly. Still have yet to try the strawberry, but I predict it will be just as delicious.

Mochi bar for the win!

Maybe one day I will get lucky and find the jackfruit I was initially searching for…

4 thoughts on “SOL #25: Mochi in My Tummy”

  1. Thanks for introducing me to mochi. Never heard of it before but I will try it. You must tell us how the strawberry fares among the other flavors.

    Like

  2. Lucky for me, I have a Whole Foods not far from my school. This sounds like exactly what I have been needing for my tiny sweet tooth after dinner. Great tip! Can’t wait!

    Like

  3. Weird!!! I’m not even sure if I’m saying it right in my head…and I’ve never actually heard of anyone I know eating Jackfruit, besides our one student.
    You have such strange eating habits and I’m glad you’re sharing them with me…and with the world! 😛

    Like

  4. I can honestly say that I’ve never heard of jackfruit or mochi. Since we live in a smaller community, we don’t have larger food stores and they don’t always bring in new items. Interesting food! Thanks for sharing

    Like

Leave a comment