SOL #6: Basketball Win!

Screen Shot 2018-03-06 at 9.58.45 PM

Today was our first girls’ basketball game! My team of 13 4th and 5th grade girls hopped onto the bus and headed over to the opposing school.

I was nervous. They were nervous.

Not only was this our first basketball game, it was also my first game as a coach, ever!

Since the game was away, I drove separately from the bus. I quickly rushed to the gym, with only 10 minutes until game time. The girls were already lined up, shooting and rebounding.

I strategically and carefully planned my line-up for the game, and I’ll be honest, I was not sure how it would go. Coaching is a learning experience for me, but it’s one that I am really starting to enjoy!

Although I was nervous and out of my comfort zone, I soon let that feeling go. Shot after shot, the girls were hustling down the court, applying what they had learned during practice.

In that moment, I realized how much fun it is to coach and cheer on the girls during the game.  Their excitement makes me excited! They have been working so hard during practice, and it all paid off.

ALSO, our team won 20-8! Our first W. 🏀☝️

 

slice-of-life_individual

 

 

5 thoughts on “SOL #6: Basketball Win!”

  1. Congratulations on your first win! Your slice definitely exudes the mixture of nerves and enthusiasm for sports and coaching. I coached for 12 years but still remember those first few games- nerves, line-ups, pride…it’s all there. Glad to hear the first game went well! Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  2. Way to go! I can’t imagine coaching; I have no athletic talent so I couldn’t do that. But, your enthusiasm makes me want to be on your team!

    Like

Leave a comment